Wash Dayaries #1

Well, this will be my first wash day since blogging so here goes!

Status: 5 weeks post

Wash day focus: Protein

Prepoo (Saturday night: 10:20 p.m- 10:40 p.m)- I placed my hair in four sections and secured them with butterfly clips. I used my COC oil mixture of coconut, olive and castor oil. I didn’t heat it however as I was feeling quite sleepy. I applied the oil mix to my scalp a teach section and then squeezed a bit of the oil in my hands and worked it in on my hair shaft. I then finger detangled followed by use of my wide tooth comb. I followed up with my Loréal Paris Damage Erasing Balm on the last 4-5 inches of my hair and braided each section which I secured with rubber elastics. I put on my Goodie Plastic cap and then my satin scarf and got ready for bed. Tomorrow is a whole new story!

Shampoo and Condition (Sunday Morning- 10:38 a.m-10:53 a.m)- I got in the shower and wet my entire head. I them shampooed each section individually with my L’oréal Paris Eversleek Sulfate-free Smoothing Shampoo, holding the ends of my braid with one hand and working the fingertips of the other into my scalp vigorously. The shampoo provided a lot of lather as it usually does which is great being that it’s a sulfate-free shampoo. I rinsed all four sections and repeated. My hair felt very clean and a bit stripped but not too much to the point of dryness.. I immediately followed up with the matching Eversleek Conditioner on each braided section and covered with a plastic cap for the remainder of time that I was in the shower. When I rinsed it out, it left my hair miraculously smooth, soft and hydrated.

Deep Condition ( 11:16 a.m- 12:00 p.m)- I mixed my protein deep conditioner which was Organics by Africa’s Best Cholesterol with Tea Tree Oil together with my COC oil mix . I gently unbraided each section, lightly finger detangled and applied the DC to my hair for the ends upward. I covered with a plastic cap and proceed to sit under my  Gold n’ Hot heat cap for 30 minutes and let my hair cool down for a few minutes before rinsing it out with cold water.

Air Drying ( 12:05-…)- After rinsing out my DC, I t-shirt dried my hair for about 10 minutes and them I sprayed my enter head with my leave-in moisture mix and applied my Profectiv leave-in Strengthener to each of the four sections while lightly finger detangling once more. I sealed with the Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Hair oil and left my hair to dry while continuing about my day.

Styling(7:32) – At this point, my hair was about 95% dry. I sectioned into halves and applied my  oil mix of castor oil and Africa’s Best Growth oil to my scalp. I then further divided my hair into four sections and began my prep for blow drying. I applied my leave-in moisture mix, followed by my Organix Moroccan Blow Out Cream and my Tresemme  Thermal Creations  Heat Protectant. I then blow dried my hair on high speed, cool air. This was repeated for the other three sections. After blow drying was complete, I used ORS Smooth and Hold Pudding on my edges an styled my hair in a high bun with a flat twist at the front( tutorial to be posted soon). I tied my hair with satin scarf for the night.

Overall Thoughts:This wash day was quite typical. I noticed a fair amount of shedding for being this far along my stretch. However, I know my hair has the potential to shed less, so I am going to keep working to lessen my shedding as much as possible. My hair definitely felt stronger after my light protein treatment as well as the use of products which contained protein (Profectiv Leave-in Strengthener).  I didn’t use my blowdryer for a while but I think it definitely helped me to achieve a sleeker look without the use of excess heat.

Overall time: 8 hours and 47 minutes (excluding overnight prepoo treatment)

Leave a Reply

