Wash Dayaries #5 : Recovery Mode On!

Hey all! So as you may or may not have noticed I didn’t post about my wash day for last week. This was due to  my spur of the moment vacation plans. I left on Wednesday 23rd July to attend my cousin’s wedding and vacationed for 10 days. I just got back this morning and while unpacking and settling back into my usual life, I decided to restore my hair to its usual self being that today i.e. Sunday is my wash day. While on vacation, I went to the beach like crazy and even though I washed more than 5 times in 10 days and did little things to spruce my hair back up, I know I needed to restore my hair and treat it from all the manipulation that comes with the beach. So let’s begin!

Status: 11 weeks post

Focus: Protein

Prepoo ( 11:08 a.m)- I divided my hair into two sections and working on one section at a time, I applied my COC oil mix to my scalp and hair shaft and then lightly finger detangled my hair. I braided each section and secured with a rubber elastic.

Shampoo and Condition (12:17 p.m) – I them hopped into the shower and rinsed both braids. I then used the Garnier Fructis Hydra-recharge Shampoo and Conditioner to wash my hair. I applied the shampoo to one section at a time and worked it into my scalp with my Shampoo massage Brush working it in small, circular motions. It got my hair super clean in both washes! I then Followed up with the conditioner and let it sit for about 25 minutes while I took a shower.

Deep Condition( 12:40 p.m)-  I focused on protein for this wash day because while on vacation, I only used my moisture deep conditioner so I decided to balance out my moisture and protein to give my hair some strength. I also realized that today was my scheduled protein treatment also, which worked out great. I mixed my COC oil mix with my Organics Tea Tree Cholesterol as well as  my Organics Hair Mayonnaise.( Quick Story! As a protein deep conditioner, I always used the Organics Hair Mayo but for several months now I couldn’t find it so I used the other product from this line which was the Tea Tree Cholesterol and it worked well enough. However, while on vacation I went into a drug store and saw that they had the Hair Mayo and I was so happy. I literally began to do mini jumps in the hair aisle and was giggling and smiling. Weird, I know! So I bought 3 containers and brought it home which is why you will see it mentioned for the first time in my blog post!) I then applied the mix to my hair and covered with a plastic cap. I sat under my Gold N’ Hot Deep Conditioning Cap for about 30 minutes and then let my hair cool. I got caught up in some stuff so I took some time to rinse it out but when I did my hair felt strong but moisturized so I will definitely be using both conditioners together for my protein treatment from now on.

Airdrying(2:35 p.m)- I t-shirt dried my hair for 30 minutes and then I applied my leave-In moisture mix, my Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Deep Conditioner( Yes Hun! You saw a right, a conditioner that can be used as a leave-in) and followed it up with my Garnier Fructis Moroccan Sleek Oil Treatment. After, I left my hair to airdry.

Styling(4:10- 5:00 p.m)- I didn’t allow my hair to fully airdry as I would be protective styling from now until the end of August at least. I made this decision simply to give my hair a break from every day manipulation. So my hair was about 60 % dry. I firstly oiled my scalp using a mixture of Jamaican Black Castor oil and Africa’s Best Growth oil. I then moisturized and sealed my hair in four sections using the LCO method where I applied my moisturizing leave-in mix as my liquid, my One N’ Only Argan Oil Styling Cream as my Cream and my Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Dry Oil as my Oil. I divided my hair again into two sections this time and placed a side part at the front of my head. I then placed my hair into my protective style of choice: Princess Crown Braids (following from step 3).

Overall Thoughts: I was truly surprised and impressed by the amount of shredded hair lost during this wash day being that I am 11 weeks post and my hair suffered several days of sea, sand and sun. I am truly happy with my new found protein treatment mix as I feel it has definitely strengthened my hair so that it can succesfully make it to 14 weeks post. I also enjoyed the decrease of time that I had to spend on my wash day. Since this is my first wash day in August, I will now be starting my new regimen which you can see here. Therefore my next wash day or should I say Cowash day will be on Thursday which will also be when I take down my princess crown braids.

Overall Time: 5 hours and 52 minutes

Leave a Reply

