Relaxer Day 1 with Miss Tress!

Hey all! There’s always three or four days a year that fill me with great relief and today just so happens to be one of them… Relaxer Day! Woohoo! My new growth is crazyyyyyy thick because I naturally have thick hair like no matter how hard I try, it’s been like a month or so since I could run my finger through my hair and feel my scalp. However, I had a different feeling toward my new growth during this stretch, I loved it! I mean don’t get me wrong, I love my natural locks but for the past few years my new growth has come as a “beautiful burden” to me but this time, I constantly wanted to play with it and such. So, I think transitioning is definitely going to be considered, but that’s another post. We’re all here to chat about my relaxer day and my results so let’s get started!

image

So, my mum usually does my relaxer because she is a professional hairdresser. However, since the week prior to my relaxer, I did no detangling of any kind and my hair LOVES to tangle (my new growth), I just left my hair in a bun and moisturized and sealed the ends every two days. Therefore, fast forward to Friday night, my hair was in a tangled hot mess. Back to my mother, she is a professional BUT she loves to do whatever she is doing very quickly and I knew if she had to part my hair to apply the relaxer in that state, she would show my hair no mercy.

I usually apply my COC oil mix to my hair before relaxing but this time I applied it and detangled my hair while doing so. So I divided my hair into four sections, applied the oil mix to my scalp and gave myself a scalp massage. I then placed the oil on my hair shaft, finger detangled and then detangled with my wide tooth comb. I braided each section after this process, and trust me, it was a crazy long one! I then took the four braids and placed them into a bun, Bantu-knot type thingy and secured with an ouch less ponytail holder. I covered my hair with a stocking cap( to prevent oil stains on my pillow and all over my bed) and them tied my satin scarf.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next afternoon, we began! My mum used the Kids Organics Hair Softening System which is geared to texlaxing however, my natural hair pattern gets straight really fast so it’s almost as if I relax. Anyway, so she applied relaxer to my hair in 3 sections and due to my extreme amount of new growth, we used the entire container of relaxer (scraping product of the sides included).  She left it on for about 20 minutes and we then rinsed and neutralized my hair with the shampoo in the set, however the small amount of shampoo was no match for my hair’s thickness so we had to use another neutralizing shampoo from the TCB brand.

imageI proceeded to deep condition my hair with my Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Deep Conditioner for about 30 minutes. I rinsed and didn’t have to detangle because I was like 1 second post and that conditioner is tangle-eraser magic! I then t-shirt dried for about 15 minutes and here are the results!

I then airdried my hair until it was 90% dry. My mom then applied the Brazilian Kerating Hair Straightening Serum and Gloss Spray to my hair and blowdried. She reapplied the products and flat-ironed my hair on 350 degrees. So, the big question is…. Did I make my goal of a healthy bra-strap length by the end of summer…… Well the answer is….*drumroll please* YES! I think that definitely calls for an emoticon celebration!

😊☺️😄👌👍😀😃✌️⭐️🎈🎧🎶🎵🍭🍦🎉🎁🎊🍭🎂😘❤️✊😁

I was so thrilled and my hair happened to be in wayyyyyy better condition than I thought it was in after all those pool and beach-filled summer days. I actually learnt that leaving my hair alone every once in a while doesn’t hurt that much. My hair definitely taught me a great lesson during this stretch: What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger ! So without further ado, I present my Bra- Strap Length Hair:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s relaxer days like these when I meet my goals that I am inspired and I become even more dedicated to my hair journey because I see that hard work pays off and if anyone is reading this right now and feel like giving up on your hair, trust me, I know it’s hard and that you feel lazy sometimes but for every down you have on your journey, you will have a ton more of ups. So never give up because you can do it!

On a lighter note🎶 (lol), where does my hair journey take me next you ask? Well, I had said in an earlier post that I was going to trim my ends but to my surprise, they were in tip-top shape so as the old saying goes, Why fix something that’s not broken? So my goal for my next relaxer is to maintain my healthy ends with some SERIOUS TLC because I am noticing just a smidge of thinning , so I want to nip it in its bud stage and you can never have too much thickness so I am also trying to gain some more thickness. Want to know how I plan to do it? Keep up with my blog for my next post on my new regimen! My next length goal however, is to be mid-back length by August, 2015!( God Spare life of course) and I want my hair to completely cover my bra strap by April,2015.

I hope you enjoyed a relaxer day with Miss Tress and you can see my progress since my previous relaxer here 👉 https://misstress1.wordpress.com/my-hair-progress/

4 thoughts on “Relaxer Day 1 with Miss Tress!

Leave a Reply

