Wash Dayaries #7- Can We Just Start Over?

 

Hey guys! So I got a relaxer last week after a 14 week stretch and claimed BSL. However, I am not quite happy with my method of getting there. I was very inconsistent with my products and regimen so what better chance to start fresh than a new stretch.

Status: 1 week post

Focus: Protein 

Prepoo (10:30 p.m Saturday)- So based on my analysis of my hair last week, my hair has a little bit of thinning and I want to put an end it to it NOW so I’m really gonna pay a lot of attention to my ends from now on. I heated my COC oil mix and applied it to my hair in four sections. I finger detangled which was a breeze and then I applied a mix of L’oréal Paris Damage Erasing Balm and Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser to my ends only. I twisted each section, put on plastic cap and scarf and left it on overnight.

 Shampoo and Condition (6:07 a.m Sunday)- I washed my hair in two sections. I had planned to use my Suave Morrocan Professionals Shampoo mind Conditioner however, over the summer I bought the Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Shampoo and Conditioner and it had one use remaining so I decided to finish it. I applied the shampoo to my scalp and used my shampoo massage brush to work it in. I then rinsed and repeated and applied conditioner. I then did the same thing on the other section. I did my shower routine and rinsed the conditioner out. 

Deep Condition (7:23 a.m)- I dried my hair lightly with a towel. I did a protein treatment using my Africa’s Best Hair Mayo and Africa’s Best Tea Tree Cholesterol. I left it on for 20 minutes while sitting under my Gold N Hot Deep Conditioning Heat Cap and rinsed it on under cool water while I detangled with my wide tooth comb.

Airdrying (8:20 a.m)- I towel dried my hair for about 10 minutes. I applied my leave-in conditioning mix, even though I planned to use my Carols Daughter Anti-Breakage Spray however it will be delivered tomorrow. I also applied my Beautiful Textures Moisture Butter to my hair and allowed it to airdry.

Styling(6:28 p.m)- I allowed my hair to dry till about 80%. I then parted it into 6 sections. I moisturized each section using the LCO method with my Leave-in Conditioning Spray, One N’ Only Argan Oil Styling Cream and Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Dry Oil. Using the largest size of flexi-rods (indigo colour), I set my hair and allowed it to dry until I was ready to go to bed. When I took it down… It wasn’t completely dry but it had a really loose set… Which I like! So I just used some warm air from my blowdryer to dry the loose curl while holding it on the palm of my hands. I then separated the curls with my fingers and of course I had to have some fun with my curls…. Pictures at the end! However, I was going for a sleek look this week, so I wrapped my hair and left it overnight. Here’s the results!

Total Time: Approximately 12 hours excluding overnight times

Overall thoughts: I enjoyed this wash day so much…. I mean everything is so much easier with a fresh relaxer! Scrubbing my scalp, check! Detangling, check check! Styling, checkkkk! My hair came out great in both the curly and straight styles so I am one happy camper. My shedded hairs were an absolute minimum and my hair felt moisturized but wasn’t weighed down…Couldn’t ask for anything better!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

