Wash Dayaries #9- Yes I am Still Alive!

Hey guys! So after forever and an eternity (about 2 weeks) I am finally back to posting my washdays. I have been superrrr sick for a few days and as a result I have been drowned in schoolwork which I had to catch up on before I proritized blogging. But anyway I am back and better than ever and we have A- LOT of catching up to do so look out for great up and coming posts on my hair updates. While I was sick, I didn’t neglect my hair but I didn’t show it a whole lot of love either , so today I wanted to start from the basics and get my hair back to a nice moisture and protein balance.

Status: 6 weeks post (My official half mark on my 12 week stretch)

Focus: Protein and Moisture Balance

Pre-poo: I heated my COC oil mix and applied it to my hair in four sections. After which, I braided each section, clipped it up and put on a plastic cap. I followed with a satin scarf to prevent oil stains while I slept, as I prepooed end overnight.

Shampoo and Condition: I used my  Suave Morrocan Sleek Shampoo, washing my hair in two sections. I applied the shampoo to a section, worked it into my scalp and clipped it up so that it could get a chance to penetrate. I then repeated on the other side. I rinsed the previous section and iced the same process again until I shampooed both sections twice. I then followed up with the conditioner on both sections and left it in my hair for about 3 minutes and rinsed.

Deep Condition: I mixed my L’oréal Paris Damage  Erasing Balm together with my Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Deep Conditioner  in order to give myself that moisture protein balance. The Damage Erasing Balm also has ceramides which act as a reconstructor for my hair shaft as well. I also added some of my Africa’s Best Ultimate Herbal Oil to mixture.  Since I hit my 6 week mark today, I began applying my deep conditioner using the relaxer method ( apply DC just as you would apply relaxer) and then applied it to my ends. I then sat under my Gold N Hot Deep Conditioning Cap for 20 mins with high heat and rinsed my hair with cool water.

Drying: I applied my Garnier Fructis Hydra Recharge Leave-in on Soaking Wet hair and a little bit of my Africa’s Best Ultimate Herbal Oil. I then took my cotton t-shirt and wrapped my hair in it. I t-shirt dried for about 3 hours.

Styling: I sectioned my hair into 3 sections; two at the front and one at the back. I then divided each section intoOverall small sections, moisturized using my One N Only Argan Oil Styling Cream and my Garnier Dructis Triple Nutrition Dry Oil and wrapped a gray flexi-rod on the section. In total I used 20 grey flexi-rods. I let them dry for the rest of the day and overnight. I took them down the next morning, coated my hands in my Africa’s Best Ultimate Herbal Oil, separated, fluffed and styled. Here are some pictures of the result:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall thoughts: Prior to deep conditioning my hair felt a little crunchy but I attribute that to the protein and ceramides in the mix. My hair felt super soft, bouncy and fluffy on my take down. No more Airdrying for me! I loved the moisture and shine I got from this set which I did on half wet hair. I don’t know if to be worried about my shedding or not since I am 6 weeks post but I plan on doing a black tea rinse next week so I’ll see how it goes. As for breakage, I am noticing some little hairs here and there but when I did my moisture and protein balance test, the results were great so I man at a lost as to what I can do to help the situation. Please leave suggestions in the comments on what I should do as well as your thoughts on Airdrying.

2 thoughts on “Wash Dayaries #9- Yes I am Still Alive!

    • Thank you so much 😀 I use ORS olive oil Smooth and Hold Pudding when I am over 8 weeks post. However, for this particular ponytail, I laid my edges down with a boar bristle brush because my natural hair is a bit straight so at 6 weeks post, my hair roots are super easy to work with. I also ensure to set my flexi rods straight up to the root so my hair is as stretched as much as possible!

Leave a Reply

