Wash Dayaries #10- Am I Being Paranoid?

Hey guys! So I didn’t post my wash day last week simply due to a lack of time however, I basically did the exact same thing….. here goes!

Status: 8 weeks post

Focus: Protein

Pre-poo: I applied my COC oil mix to my roots and hair shaft in two sections. I then coated the last 4-5 inches of my hair with my L’oréal Paris Damge Erasing Balm and covered with a plastic cap. I sat under my deep conditioning cap for 10-15 minutes.

Shampoo and Condition: I shampooed my hair in two sections with my Suave Morrocan Sleek Shampoo using the method which I explained in my recent hair update post

which you can check out here👉 https://misstress1.wordpress.com/2014/10/25/just-to-let-ya-know

I did not apply the matching conditioner for the shampoo as I normally would since I realized that it had dimethicone ( a type of silicon) in it.  Silicones create a barrier on your hair shaft that doesn’t allow stuff to penetrate therefore for the past two weeks when I was using this, it was preventing my deep conditioner from fully penetrating.

Deep  Condition: I sectioned my hair into four and firstly sprayed my roots and hair shaft with my black tea and coconut oil rinse. I followed up with my deep conditioning mix: Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Dee p Conditioner and Organics By Africa’s Best Hair Mayo which I applied using the relaxer method. I sat under my DC cap with this for 30 minutes and proceeded to rinse. My hair felt okay but I would’ve definitely preferred it to be softer and more moisturized but I attribute it’s toughness to the protein.

Drying: I applied my Garnier Fructis Hydra Recharge Whipped Leave- in and t-shirt dried my hair for about an hour.

Styling: I sectioned my hair into six sections and using the LCO method, I moisturized my hair using my  Garnier Fructis Hydra Recharge Whipped Leave-in , One N Only Argan Oil Styling Cream and my Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Dry Oil.  I oiled my scalp for each section using my Jamaican Black Castor Oil and Africa’s Best Growth Oil mix. I placed each section onto a jumbo flexi-rod ( I don’t know the exact measurement but it’s the largest size) and allowed it to dry for the remainder of the day and overnight. Here are some pics of the result:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My hair was still 5 % wet the next morning which I wasn’t very fond about because my curls didn’t have as much bounce and life as I like them to! However, since I am just protective styling my hair had a nice volume to create my bun.

Overall thoughts: My wash day took a total of four hours which I loved! I am definitely not missing air-drying and will continue to set my hair while it’s  wet. I have quite a bit of new growth and I actually couldn’t believe that it was 8 weeks already because my new growth is behaving better than usual. After using my black tea rinse last week, I noticed an instant decrease in shedding. However, this week my shedding continued at the same rate. I am not sure if this is due to protein overload as a result of using the L’oréal Paris Damage Erasing Balm and the Hair Mayonnaise in one wash day since they are both protein based conditioners. I am definitely going to observe my hair over the course of this week to see if there is any excessive shedding. As a result of my paranoia, I plan to use only moisture based moisturizers this week instead of alternating between moisture and protein.  Next week I’ll be entering the 9 weeks post phase also known as the “protective style like crazy” phase so I’ll definitely be sharing some more styles. Overall washday was okay!

How was your washday? Do you think I’m being paranoid about having protein overload? Leave your comments in the comment section.

🎀💁💗🙆

6 thoughts on “Wash Dayaries #10- Am I Being Paranoid?

    • Thanks… Buns never fail me! My hair is quite thick so I think I may need smaller sections of hair in each rod but I want to avoid doing that because I like the big curls I get from just 6.

Leave a Reply

