Wash Dayaries 14- The Honeymoon Phase

Hey all! So I have decided to resume my well-appreciated, weekly,  wash day diaries and today  has been my first wash since my last relaxer. As you may or may not know, my wash day is usually Sunday, which I chose mostly for convenience due to my hectic weekly schedule that comes with being a full time student. Anyway, this wash day was sooooooo stress-free which I mostly attribute to having 0% new growth, so as usual, let me update you on whats going on……

Washday 1

Relaxer Stretch Period : 2 weeks post relaxer

Focus: Protein

I decided to focus on protein this week in order to rebuild and restregthen my strands after their traumatic experience, that is, a relaxer touch-up since the chemicals break down the keratin structure of our strands. So I began with a deep condition session in which I used my protein DC mix ( Carol’s Daughter Monoi Hair Mask, ORS Hair Mayo, ORS Replenishing Conditioner, Profectiv Megastrength Deep Conditioner, Coconut Oil, Tea-tree Oil, Castor Oil, Olive Oil and Africa’s Best Herbal Oil) and applied it to my hair shaft only in four sections which I later made into two big sections. I covered with a plastic cap and let it sit for about 30 minutes to an hour.

I then proceeded to Shampoo my hair in the two sections using the Carols Daughter Monoi Repairing Shampoo and exfoliated my scalp with Vita Goods Scalp Massaging Shampoo Brush which I used for the first time today. (First Impressions Review up next!) My scalp was mostly clean and so I followed up with the Carols Daughter Monoi Repairing Conditioner, coating my strands with it and applying the VO5 Raspberry Conditioner ontop for added slip. I covered my hair once more for about 20 minutes and rinsed in cold water after, detangling with my wide tooth comb under the shower. My hair felt quite sleek and soft and so I was contented.

Out of the shower, I used the t-shirt method to dry my hair to 50% for about 2 hours. Upon removal of the t-shirt, my felt a bit limp but I remembered that I had just infused loads of protein and so it was to be expected. I then sectioned my hair off into 8 sections to use my flexi-rods. The flexis I used were 7/8″ because I set my hair weekly in big curls for easy manageabilty different style options and mainly to add volume to my hair. Once I started applying product to my hair, the limpness left almost instantly! I used, in the following order, my Creme of Nature Leave- In Conditioner, Creme of Nature Style and Shine Foaming Mousse, Carols Daughter Hair Milk Styling Butter and Carols Daughter Black Vanilla Pure Hair Oil.

I then sat under the dreaded hooded dryer for an hour and left my hair in the rods overnight. The next Morning I coated my hands in the Creme of Nature Straight from Eden Repairing Oil which added shine to my curls, fluffed and styled.

The only thing that I wasnt super happy with during this wash day was my shedding.Even though it wasnt much, I feel as though it was too much for freshly relaxed hair which had just undergone a protein treatment so I am working to figure out the cause of my shedding. Nonetheless I cant stress how happy I am with my hair and Im so glad to be back in the relaxer honeymoon phase (between 1-4 weeks post)! Of Course, here are some pictures……..

image image image image

2 thoughts on “Wash Dayaries 14- The Honeymoon Phase

    • Thank you so much 😊 I moisturize and seal my hair lightly each night and place Each section into a jumbo flexi rod (as seen above) and cover with my satin bonnet or scarf. voila! My curls are moisturized, seal and preserved for the next day!

Leave a Reply

