Washday #17-18: Balance is Key

Hey all! So I decided to combine my previous 2 wash days into one big post so that I can compare the differences between my moisture wash day routine and protein wash day routine! I thought it would be easier to understand my regimen this way so I decided to share with you guys! Side note: In these 2 wash days I am 1 week and 2 weeks post relaxer respectively.

So my first washday after getting a relaxer is usual one that is protein based simpto restore all the protein that the chemical has broken down in my hair. I began by doing a hot oil treatment ( coconut, olive, castor, Amla, tea tree and jojoba) which I do every 4 weeks and left it overnight with a plastic cap. However, I began my moisture washday by deep conditioning my hair with my moisture DC mix( Carols Daughter Black Vanilla Hair Smoothie, CON intensive deep conditioning treatment, oils etc.) and allowed that to stay overnight. I usually begin most of my wash days with a deep condition as it doubles as both a pre-poo treatment and deep conditioner thus preventing the in and out shower hopping.

On washday 1, after my pre-poo I proceeded to wash my hair in two sections using my protein shampoo and conditioner set ; Carols Daughter Monoi Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner while on washday 2, I repeated the same process but used Carols Daughter Mirabelle Plum Biotin Shampoo and Conditioner instead.

I then t-shirt dried my hair for the remainder of the day and applied my leave -in prior to styling. On washday 1, when I use protein ; I followed up with a moisture leave in which is the CON Argan Oil Leave in conditioner spray simply too boost my hair’s moisture . On wash day 2, however, I utilized a protein based leave in which is the Carols Daughter Monoi Leave in to increase my protein balance since my hair had just received loads of moisture.

My styling process for the first 6-8 weeks of my hair stretch is basically the same. I utilized Carols Daughter Hair Milk styling cream, CON Argan oil style and shine mousse and Carols Daughter Black ย Vanilla Pure Hair oil to set my hair in a jumbo flexi-rod set using 10 flexi-rods which I left to air dry overnight!

Here are my curls from both weeks :


Do you think they look the same? Which do you prefer? Let me know in the ย comments! Don’t forget to follow me on IG @miss_tress123 and right here on my blog to stay updated on the hair fun!

Love ya

-Miss Tress ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŽ€๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒบ

4 thoughts on “Washday #17-18: Balance is Key

Leave a Reply

