Relaxer Prep 101

To my relaxed ladies out there; past, present and future, we all know the dangers of the well known “creamy crack”. And we know just as well, that if these dangers are not curbed and limited, then your hair will simply be a mess.  So I thought I would share the precautions which one must take to have a successful and stress free relaxer with no disappointing surprises and, of course, relate my own process and experience.

  • The first thing is to ensure that your hair is Detangled! This allows for the relaxer to be  easily applied to your new growth as your hair will be easy to part and separate along the line of demarcation. This, therefore, prevents over processing of the hair due to leaving the chemical on too long while trying to properly part the hair. In order to Detangle my hair, especially before relaxing, I use My Q-Redew Handheld Hair Steamer which easily works through my thick new growth, lessening my breakage and shedding.
  • Properly coating the strands of the hair plays an extremely vital role in the relaxer touch-up process. Oils, which are known to coat the strands act as a barrier between the hair shaft and the chemical to prevent over processing of previously relaxed hair as well as the new growth. It also prevents the hair from becoming limp and lifeless and limits and burns or irritation to the scalp. For this process, I use my Oil Mixture which nourishes the strands and gives it the strength to withstand the harsh relaxing process and also protects it from overprocessing. It must be noted, however, that the steam from the Q-redew opens my hair cuticles so that there is maximum absorption of the oil.
  • It is also important to base your scalp, forehead and nape area prior to relaxing since relaxers are harsh chemicals and can easily corrode and irritate the skin. This can be done using Vaseline, however, the relaxer kit that I use includes a scalp guard product which I utilize for this purpose. This creates a barrier between your skin and the chemical thereby preventing and possible skin dangers.
  • It’s a widely discussed belief that relaxers should be applied to dirty hair. Will it make your relaxer results better? No! Because the strength of the chemical remains unchanged and therefore The strands are processed wether dirty or clean. Will it prevent scalp burns and irritation? Yes! When your hair is dirty, the dust and sweat particles build up on the scalp. This therefore prevents contact between the chemical and the scalp and burns and irritation cannot occur.

Here is a short clip of how I prepare a section of my hair for a relaxer:

I hope this post was useful and it helps you to get the best out of your relaxer day! Don’t forget to follow my blog and follow my IG account @iam_misstress to keep up with the fun and we grow our hair to long inches one by one. Comment below with any questions, concerns or tips you have about preparing your hair for a relaxer.

-Miss Tress 🙆🏾🎀💕💇🏾🌺🌸💁🏽

One thought on “Relaxer Prep 101

  1. Pingback: Relaxer Update- June 2016  | Miss Tress

Leave a Reply

