Relaxer Update- June 2016 

And it’s here!!!!! Yes,by the title, you’ve guessed it… Another Relaxer Day! I relaxed my hair at 12 weeks post, as scheduled and I am really loving the same stage of my hair right now. Relaxer days always bring me joy mostly because I can see my hard work paying off and I feel so rewarded and stimulated.

I started by preparing my hair for the relaxer which I explained in my last post, the night before and the next day I got to it. If you have read my other relaxer updates, then you are aware that my mother, a professional hairdresser, does my relaxer touch-ups every three months. I use the Kids Organics Texture Softener which is not a relaxer, but I still do not consider myself texlaxed as my hair has very minimal texture.

This texture softening kit comes with a scalp guard and texture control which must be applied to the scalp and hair shaft respectively to protect against any excessive damage so we first began by applying these products even though my hair was previously coated with oil. You can never be too careful! 😂 My mother then proceeded to apply the relaxer to my new growth and after approximately 15-20 minutes she rinsed and neutralized my hair.

The kit comes with a light protein treatment which I mixed with my Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Deep Conditioner and applied to my hair. I sat under my deep conditioning cap for 30 minutes and rinsed and Detangled under cool, running water.

I then applied some Carols Daughter Mirabelle Plum Conditioner to my hair and let it sit for 5 minutes as my hair still felt a little dry. My mother then applied the Lottabody Setting Lotion to my hair as well as the Creme of Nature Argan oil Treatment and I sat under the hooded dryer for 1 hour. This was my first time doing this as means of drying my hair on relaxer day and the results were great but the heat was INTENSE!

After drying under the hooded dryer

Airdrying in a ponytail

After an hour my hair still wasn’t fully dry, and I refused to go back under that “hell hole” so I just airdried in a ponytail for the remainder of time.My mother applied the John Frieda Frizz Ease Styler and the Creme of Nature Sleek and Shine Polisher. My hair was then lightly blow dried at high heat, low speed for smoothness and flat ironed at 300 degrees.

Here are the results:

I am finally claiming full MBL which mean I am one step away from WL hair!!!!! I urge you, my fellow sisters on your hair journey, never give up! It took me three years to get here and I don’t regret any minute of it. I hope you enjoyed this post and of course, don’t forget to follow my blog and my IG account @iam_misstress to keep up with he hair fun as we grow inches one by one!

-Miss Tress 🙆🏾🌺💕💁🏽🌸🎀💇🏾

Leave a Reply

