Night Time Hair Routine: Straight Hair 

Relaxed, natural, transitioning, thin,thick, long and short; we all desire healthy, flowing, straightened hair at some point. But once we have taken the plunge and pressed those heat plates so cautiously along our strands, how do we maintain the finished product? How do we keep our hair soft and moisturized but avoid the weighed down, limp appearance? Here’s one way💁🏽

I first begin by sectioning my hair into four parts and detangling lightly from ends to roots. Currently I use my CALA Detangler on my straightened hair. This simply ensures that you maintain the sleek hair you’ve created. 

I then proceed to apply a VERY small amount of oil to my ends only! Some oils have moisturizing properties which I previously mentioned in my Oil Dictionary post. A small amount of oil is added so that the ends of the hair do not become weighed down and clump together. It’s important to apply the oil to your ends only so that the hair shaft doesn’t appear limp and lifeless. Also the ends of the hair are the oldest and therefore the weakest so it’s essential to moisturize them the most frequently. Currently, I am using the Creme of Nature Argan Oil Treatment because I love it’s silkiness and moisturizing properties. 

Wrapping my hair  comes next, so that my hair lies flat and remains straight for an extended time period.  There are countless tutorials on hair wrapping but if you require one of me, definitely don’t hesitate to ask. Finally I tie with a silk or satin scarf to reduce friction on my hair while sleeping and therefore minimize breakage.


And voila! This nightly routine usually allows me to wear my hair straight for approximately a week and a half! 

What tips and tricks do you employ for smooth, silky and soft long-lasting flat ironed hair? I hope you found this post helpful and don’t forget to follow my blog and my IG account @iam_misstress for more hair fun as we grow inches one by one! 

-Miss Tress 💁🏽💕🌺💇🏾🌸🎀🙆🏾

Leave a Reply

